Navavidha Bhakti

Home Previous Page
NextPage ContactMe


Bhagavat Dharma/Dasakuta

The word Bhakti is derived from Sanskrit word root "Bhaj" added with the affix "Klin".Bhakti means the service to the Lord.Bhakti is the feeling of developing adoration for the Lord in the devotee`s(Bhakta`s) heart.The highest form of Bhakti does not crave for the fulfillment of any desire and is unconditional.Bhakti is a divine love illuminated by a full knowledge (Jynana)of the Lord in it.Jynana and Bhakti are two aspects of path-way to realization of soul and the supreme.Both are corelated.There can not be any devotion without affirm and adequate knowledge of the object of devotion nor any pursuit of knowledge can be there without the urge of love for Lord.Many original mantras in the Rigveda(admitted as the oldest literary monument of the world) are roots of Bhakti..We also come across the devotion towards Lord in Upanishads.Bhakti is a direct development of the upasana or fervent meditation.There are nine stages or forms of Bhakti. (Navavidha Bhakti)

Navavidha Bhakti

"Shravanam,Keertanam,Vishnoho Smaranam,Padasevanam, Archanam,Vandanam,Dasyam,Sakhyam,Atmanivedanam"
(SrimadBhagavata.7- 5-23-24)
Stage or Form of Bhakti Meaning Name of the Devotee
Shravanam Audition Pariskhit
Keertanam Recapitulation Shukamuni
Smaranam Remembrance Pralhad
Padasevanam Service at the feet of the Lord Lakshmi
Archanam Worship(Pooja) Pruthu
Vandanam Salutations with praise Akrura
Dasyam Service(Seva) Anjaneya
Sakhyam Friendliness Arjun
Atmanivedanam Surrendering one self Bali
There are two classic authority on the philosophy of Bhakti.
  • Narada BhaktiSutras (Book of Aphorisms on Divine Love)
  • Shandilya BhaktiSutras (Enquiry into Divine Love)
  • Narada`s BhaktiSutras states eleven stages/forms of Bhakti, while SrimadBhagavat states nine.
    1)Gunamantrasakti,(2)Rupasakti,(3)Poojasakti,(4)Smaransakti,( 5)Dasyasakti, (6)Sakhyasakti,(7)Vastalyasakti,(8)Kanyasakti,(9)Atmanivedanamsakti(10)Tan mayasakti, (11)Paramvirahasakti

    Home | Feedback | PreviousPage | NextPage | Contact Me

    web page designed & updated
    savita raghavendra
    contact :
    Back to Top